Go to first page   Go to previous page   1 2 Go to next page   Go to last page  
1982148209
Book:Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my Hasidic roots / Deborah Feldman.:2020 Book Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my Hasidic roots / Deborah Feldman.
Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my Hasidic roots / Deborah Feldman.
Author: Feldman, Deborah, 1986-
Publication year: 2020
Language: English
Media class: Book
Publisher: Simon & Schuster,
Resource type: Physical
ISBN: 9781982148201 (pbk.) :
Notes:
Originally published: 2012.
TV tie-in.
Extent: 288 pages : illustrations (black and white) ; 22 cm
Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating Provide rating
Loading...
Available: 1
Total number of loans: 1
Loans this year: 0
Number of reservations: 0
Description:
In this memoir about growing up in - and ultimately escaping from - a strict Hasidic community, Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious sect that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms. Now a Netflix original series! Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trap

Available at:

Loading...

Other titles by the author

Similar titles

1444787438
Author: Shortt, Rupert, author.
1399800019
Author: Sacks, Jonathan, 1948-2020, author.
0316535869
Author: Couric, Katie, author.
0241003261
0349144400
Author: Swire, Sasha, author.
0008321019
Author: Solomon, Stacey, 1989- author.
0415284732
Author: Le Goff, Jacques.
0007196784
Author: Patchett, Ann.
0571234135
Author: Morris, Jan, 1926-2020, author.
0233004971
1529063655
Author: McIntyre, Michael, 1976- author.
1788703987
Author: Ryan, Katherine, 1983- author.
1529346193
1910931012
Author: Khalaf, Farida, author.
0281080690
1398505293
Author: Mortimer, Bob, author.
1472134230
Author: Martin, Heather, 1950- author.
1529354099
Author: Schmeichel, Peter, 1963- author.
1471194949
Author: Skin (Musician), author.

Users who borrowed also borrowed

Language